Charlie Porter

Immigration Nation

OA2 22177


iTunes - $9.99

...technical wizardry patiently unfolding.

With a sweeping collection of new music, acclaimed trumpeter/composer Charlie Porter gathers a dynamic group of forward-looking musicians to celebrate America's rich immigrant history. In a time when policy has become a heart-wrenching polarizing topic, Porter felt compelled to reclaim the uniting power of the word "immigrant" through art, knowing its healing capacity can be great when crafted with intention. Porter, saxophonist Nick Biello, pianist Oscar Perez, bassist David Wong, and drummer Kenneth Salters, present ten original compositions in two sets, "Leaving Home" & "New Beginnings." The ensemble burns and soars while embracing many global influences that have found their way into the music, including elements from Porter's Lebanese/Greek/Italian heritage, all while fully living in the essence and language of jazz. " incredibly proficient instrumentalist, with a fluid and expressive style that feels like a fresh twist on the hard-bop establishment" - Jazz Society of Oregon.

Track Listing:

Part 1: Leaving Home
1. Immigration Nation | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 7:45
2. Contradictions Within | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 8:41
3. Divergent Paths | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 6:01
4. Flight | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 4:46
5. Second Chance | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 6:10 Lyrics by Charlie Porter and Jacob Miller
6. The Unexpected | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 6:27

Part 2: New Beginnings
7. The Privileged Few | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 8:39
8. A New Vernacular | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 5:30
9. Survival of the Fittest | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 4:42
10. A Deepening Sense | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 7:00
11. Belonging | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 5:32
12. Chant | Charlie Porter | Porter House Press (ASCAP) | 7:44


Charlie Porter - trumpet
Nick Biello - tenor saxophone
Oscar Perez - piano
David Wong - bass
Kenneth Salters - drums
Sabine Kabongo - vocals

Production Info:

Produced by Steve Alboucq
Recorded by Mike Marciano & Max Ross at Samurai Hotel Recording Studio, Astoria, NY
on April 28-29, 2019
Mixed & Mastered by Mike Marciano,Systems Two, Long Island
Photos by Steve Alboucq

Reviews of Immigration Nation

Midwest Record (Chris Spector)
If you had great grand parents who came here not knowing how to speak English but able to push a cart through alleys 12 hours a day while they figured how to support their families and prosper, you don't have to be a guilty, white, liberal to feel for what immigrant families are going through today. This set, cut into ‘leaving home' and ‘new ...

Join the Origin Community





  • Origin Records
    8649 Island Drive South
    Seattle, WA 98118
    ph: (206) 781-2589
    fx: (206) 374-2618
  • Email / Order Info / Etc