Origin Artist

Ryan Cohan

Pianist/composer and Guggenheim Fellow Ryan Cohan has distinguished himself as a vital original voice to be heard amongst the elite young jazz artists on the global music scene today.

Born June 6, 1971, Ryan was introduced to music very early in life by his mother, who was a music teacher as well as a classical pianist and guitarist. Although, he began reading music even sooner, his formal training began at age nine on the violin. A few years later he switched to the keyboard, and by his second year in high school, Ryan knew that he wanted a life dedicated to music and began an intense daily practice regimen at the piano.

Wanting to deepen his formal training led Ryan to DePaul University where he received his bachelor's of music degree in jazz performance in 1993. At DePaul, Ryan studied extensively with jazz pianist Larry Novak and arranger, producer Cliff Colnot; later he was tutored by improvisation guru David Bloom. During two summer breaks in college, Ryan received full scholarships from Blue Note Records to study at The Skidmore Jazz Institute in New York whose faculty included the late legend, Milt Hinton.

Concurrently, Ryan began making his mark on the Chicago music scene playing with the region's top jazz and Latin musicians. He has since performed with such luminaries and stellar ensembles as Freddie Hubbard, Curtis Fuller, Joe Locke, Paquito D'Rivera, Jon Faddis, Kurt Elling, Pat La Barbera, Andy Narell, Regina Carter, Michal Urbaniak, Orbert Davis and The Chicago Jazz Philharmonic, The Chicago Jazz Ensemble and The Chicago Chamber Musicians among many others. Ryan's diverse resume also includes a substantial list of commercial studio performing credits, arranging for the Grant Park Symphony with Otis Clay, and the music director position with the Chicago Human Rhythm Project.

As an educator, Ryan has been the assistant director of small and large jazz ensembles at The University Of Illinois at Chicago, faculty member of the Skidmore Jazz Institute in New York, and he continues to work as a jazz artist clinician at universities and high schools throughout the U.S and abroad.


Thomas Marriott
Origin 82765

John Wojciechowski
Origin 82699

Lorin Cohen
Origin 82693

Geof Bradfield
Origin 82637

Geof Bradfield
Origin 82572

Kobie Watkins
Origin 82532


For more information about Ryan Cohan, please visit: http://www.ryancohan.com/.

Explore other Pianists:

Clay Giberson
Marius Nordal
Marc Seales
Pax Wallace
Randy Halberstadt
Ryan Burns
Bill Anschell
Jessica Williams
Glenn Zaleski
Geoffrey Keezer
Toby Koenigsberg
Laurence Hobgood
Geoff Stradling
Hal Galper
Darrell Grant
Jim McNeely
Ron Di Salvio
Kelly Brand
Dawn Clement
Steve Million
John Hansen
Jon Alberts
Bram Weijters
Paul Hofmann
Richard Sussman
Michal Vanoucek
Matija Dedic
Alex Chadsey
Stu Katz
Brittany Anjou
Ron Perrillo
Gary Versace
Darin Clendenin
Dan Cray
Dick Reynolds
Ted Brancato
George Colligan
Dominic J. Marshall
Jerry Heldman
Gene Argel
Josh Nelson
Richie Beirach
Jack Perla
Florian Hoefner
Oscar Hernandez
Bongwool Lee
Orrin Evans
Alain Mallet





  • Origin Records
    8649 Island Drive South
    Seattle, WA 98118
    ph: (206) 781-2589
    fx: (206) 374-2618
  • Email / Order Info / Etc